St. John the Baptist, Pewsey

Introduction

    St. John's Pewsey from front left

    The church from front left

    Muddy Church

    Christmas Service

    The Giant Christingle at St. John's

    Font cover and clockwork bell mechanism

    Holiday Club obstacle race

    The east window

    The light Party

    The west window

St John the Baptist is situated in the heart of the village of Pewsey. Famed for its annual carnival, Pewsey is a vibrant village with a strong sense of community. St. John’s aims to bless that community in all its activities, and has a friendly welcoming congregation of all ages with a variety of different services throughout each month. The 1st Sunday has a traditional morning Communion Service, while the evening offers Sunday@6 – informal and lively praise & worship. The next two Sundays bring an informal Morning Worship, then a Communion Service; 4th Sunday is Muddy Church – a ‘Wander and a wonder’ nearby; finally we have CafĂ© Church, roughly quarterly, an informal service with modern worship, refreshments throughout, drama, craft & prayer activities –  for all ages.

As the largest building in the team, St. John’s is often the centre for children’s activities such as holiday clubs and fun-days. For more info visit the Children & Families page, or see below for all events at St. John’s.

Getting here

Facilities

Parking:

On-Street

Wheelchair Access:

Yes - ramp far-right of main entrance

Refreshments:

After Covid restrictions end: Refreshments served after most servcies 

Toilets:

Single

Hearing loop:

Yes

Projector:

Yes

History of the building

The Saxon settlement of Pevisigge almost certainly had a church built of wood and thatch on the present site high above the often flooded valley.

The Normans replaced it with one of stone and the arcades of pillars and arches remain. The font is also Norman. In the 13th century the nave roof was rebuilt and a clerestory was formed and a tower was built. In 1861 the south chancel aisle (the chapel) was added and the church was filled with pews and galleries.

The greatest restoration took place in 1889-90 during the incumbency of Canon Bouverie. He carved the font cover as a memorial to the men of the parish who fell in the 1914-18 war.

Giving

St. John's Church members and visitors can give to the work of the church in various ways:

The Parish Giving Scheme

Online Giving

Contactless payments

Donations can be made with a credit or debit card at certain services.

Cash

Cash can still be given at a service if you wish.

This month at St. John's

September 2022